Quotes about insomnia

For my Fact:Poem:Film brief… here are some nice quotes about insomnia that I really like:

“A flock of sheep that leisurely pass by one another after one; the sound of rain, and bees murmuring; the fall of rivers, winds and seas, smooth fields, while sheets of water, and pure sky – I’ve thought of all by turns, and still I lie sleepless…” – William Wordsworth, To Sleep

This is a series of very tranquil imageries that we typically tend to visualise for the calming (and hopefully sleepy) state of mind to fall asleep.  The highlight is probably the last phrase “I’ve thought of all by turns, and till I lie sleepless”; which emphasised the distraught in all his failed attempts to do fall asleep. This is like the first stage; not exactly in total distress yet.

Just reading it alone, I could vividly imagined all these images and they could simply form a film by itself; but If I head off with this direction, I am in high risk of copying exactly the whole  sequence :S

“But [Pooh] couldn’t sleep. The more he tried to sleep the more he couldn’t. He tried counting Sheep, which is sometimes a good way of getting sleep, and, as that was no good, he tried counting Heffalumps. And that was worse. Because every Heffalump that he counted was making straight for a pot of Pooh’s honey, and eating it all. For some minutes he lay there miserably, but when the five hundred and eighty-seventh Heffalump was licking its jaws, and saying to itself, “Very good honey this. I don’t know when i’ve tasted better,” Pooh could bear it no longer.”  – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Heffalumps are generally thought as elephants from a child’s viewpoint.

This seems to be a continuation from above where you began to realise you can’t sleep and you began to try means to do so and counting sheep (or Heffalumps in this case) was the method I, myself, as a kid would first do so.  I like how it narrates the progression when your subconscious worries and fears start emerge concurrently while you are consciously counting to fall asleep till the moment of zero tolerance.

“The worst thing in the world is to try to sleep and not to.”F.Scott Fitzgerald

 

At the moment I am still pondering about exactly what I want to portray insomnia: the part where you try hard to fall asleep or the part when all the monstrous worries, guilt and self-deprecation, loneliness and existential issues come about? I usually start off with an idea and then my excitement goes in all direction and then I can’t decide and focus on which direction to take on :S

Quotes about insomnia

Leave a Reply

