People & Place: Sponge Stamp Workshop

Our 2nd workshop for People & Place brief was to make our own stamp with sponge with regard to our outcome.

Here is my stamp outcome of my final illustration:

I was working within a really short time and with a really small and soft sponge so I made this really simple icon of my Hayward Gallery. Because the sponge was so soft and my cuts weren’t that deep and I wasn’t sure how it could affect the printing, I tried printing with different levels of strength pressing against it. Turned out the sponge stamp could withstand the force and work best when I pressed harder.

Another learning point from this workshop was thinking about negative and positive space, just like how it works in relief printing, and how it would affect your composition 🙂

People & Place: Sponge Stamp Workshop

Leave a Reply

